O my Lord,
if I worship Thee from fear of Hell, burn me in Hell,
and if I worship Thee in hope of Paradise, exclude me thence,
but if I worship Thee for Thine own sake,
then withhold not from me Thine Eternal Beauty.

~Rabi’a al-’Adawiyya

When he has renounced the world so that he does not take to it on account of his (own) desire nor in compliance with the urges of his own self but just to fulfil the commandment of God, he is then commanded to talk to the world and establish contact with the it because now there is a portion for him in it which cannot be discarded and which has not been created for any other reason.

Abdul Qadir Gilani

God says, “I have created you, your moments, your breaths, your possessions, your lives. If they are expended on Me, if you give them to Me, the price of them is everlasting Paradise. This is your worth in My sight.

~Rumi

To your mind feed understanding,
to your heart, tolerance and compassion.
The simpler your life, the more meaningful.
The less you desire of the world,
the more room you will have in it
to fill with the Beloved.

Shaykh Abu Saeed Abil Kheir

His words were filled with such eloquence and wisdom, as though an ocean abided inside him, and the ocean filled with eloquent pearls. The light that shone from every pearl became a criterion of right and wrong.

Rumi

If you make intense supplication
and the timing of the answer is delayed,
do not despair of it.
His reply to you is guaranteed;
but in the way He chooses,
not the way you choose,
and at the moment He desires,
not the moment you desire.

Ibn ‘Ata’llah

My heart is so small, how can You put such great sorrows in it?

Look He replied. Your eyes are even smaller yet they behold the world.

Mawlana Rumi

The secret of love is not for everyone.So kissing of this great courtyard is not in everyone’s destiny.

~ Allama Iqbal